Annual Congregational Meeting

Chapel in the Pines Presbyterian Church
Congregational Meeting
March 25, 2012 – 11:35 a.m. – Sanctuary


The meeting was called to order by the Reverend Mindy Douglas Adams at the close of worship.  She led the congregation in prayer.  Rev. Adams stated that the Clerk of Session, Mary Donna Pond, was available to serve as Clerk for the annual meeting.  Cindy Massey moved that Mary Donna be elected as Clerk for the Congregational Meeting, Karen Fisher seconded the motion, Rev. Adams called for a vote, and Mary Donna was elected Clerk. 

Rev. Adams stated the purpose of the meeting: to receive a report from the Nominating Committee and elect officers; to receive the 2011 Annual Report; and to act on three procedural motions regarding the conduct of congregational meetings.  She then explained that the new Form of Government no longer sets a quorum, parliamentary authority, or requirements for notice of congregational meetings.  The Session had passed motions addressing these matters, the first of which was to set a quorum for a Congregational Meeting at twenty percent of the members on the active roll.  Coming from the Session, the motion required no second.  There was no discussion and the vote passed without dissent.  Rev. Adams asked the Clerk if a quorum was present; the Clerk declared a quorum present.

The second motion, also from Session and requiring no second, was to adopt Roberts Rules of Order as parliamentary authority for Congregational Meetings.  Again, there was no discussion and the motion passed without dissent.

The third motion was to approve the requirements for public notice for Congregational Meetings.  The Session moved that notice be given for two consecutive Sundays prior to a Congregational Meeting, with one of those Sundays being the same day as the meeting.  There was no discussion of the motion and it passed without dissent.

Phyllis Greene, Chair of the Nominating Committee, thanked those who served on the Nominating Committee and asked them to stand.  She then invited the committee’s nominees for election as Ruling Elders, Class of 2015, to come forward to give brief statements about their calling to serve.  Jeff Morehouse, Tina Stark, and Bob Warren made such statements.  Rev. Adams then asked for any nominations from the floor.  Hearing none, it was moved and seconded that the nominations be closed.  That motion passed unopposed.  Rev. Adams then called for a motion that the Nominating Committee’s slate of nominees be elected to serve as Ruling Elders.  Edith Hammond moved and Pat Chappell seconded.  The congregation voted unanimously to elect Jeff, Tina, and Bob as Ruling Elders.

Phyllis then invited Bob Hoerter, Stephen Hudak, Keith Glidewell, and Diane Tietz to give brief statements about their calling to serve as Deacons.  Following the Statements, Rev. Adams explained that Bob was nominated for a two-year term to fill a current vacancy, and that Stephen, Keith, and Diane were nominated for the Class of 2015, a three-year term.  She invited nominations from the floor.  There being none, it was moved and seconded that the nominations be closed.  The vote was unanimous.  A motion was made and seconded to elect the slate of Deacons, and it passed unopposed.

As copies of the 2011 Annual Report were distributed, Rev. Adams stated that the congregation’s Annual Meeting also serves as the legally-required Annual Meeting of the Corporation.  She stated that the Corporation had no business to conduct, and thus adjourned that portion of the meeting.  Rev. Adams then noted a few highlights from the Annual Report including the successful completion of the building and moving into our new church home.  She thanked the congregation for its faithful work in the life of the church.   Mary Donna Pond rose to state that the congregation was happy to have given Mindy a sabbatical leave during 2011 and was even more happy to have her back.  The congregation affirmed this statement with applause.  It was moved and seconded that the 2011 Annual Report be approved, and the motion was passed without dissent.

Rev. Adams asked for a motion to adjourn which was made by Joe Hammond and seconded by John Walkup.  Hearing no objection, she adjourned the meeting with a benediction at 11:55 a.m.


Respectfully submitted,





Mary Donna Pond, Clerk


Approved by Session April 9, 2012